1
<
>

BEN HARPER & THE INNOCENT CRIMINALS
RAD. TRIO FEAT. CANDY DULFER

Crossover Night, 25.10.2018

BEN HARPER & THE INNOCENT CRIMINALS
RAD. TRIO FEAT. CANDY DULFER

Crossover Night, 25.10.2018

Sponsors
Im Kalender speichern

Thursday, 25 Oct. 2018 / Event Hall Basel Fair

Crossover Night

His father is a percussionist. His mother taught him guitar. At the age of eight he saw Bob Marley performing live. One thing was clear for Ben Harper: Music knows no boundaries and is infinitely multifaceted. With his band The Innocent Criminals he has since experimented with all genres from blues to jazz, and combines to a unique art. Experiment and improvisation also dominate the music of keyboarder Rose Ann Dimalanta, aka RAD. and her trio, consisting of bass player Raymond McKinley and drummer Massimo Buonanno and saxophonist Candy Dulfer. The world-class musicians, who have worked and toured with Prince, celebrate the premiere of a supergroove show in the New Power Generation style.
 
Zeno van Essel

 

Change of programme on 25 October:
New: RAD. Trio feat. Candy Dulfer to perform before Ben Harper & The Innocent Criminals

There has been a change to the programme for «Crossover Night» at the BALOISE SESSION on 25 October. RAD. Trio feat. Candy Dulfer will now open the evening. This will be followed by Ben Harper & The Innocent Criminals.

Unfortunately Jimmy Cliff, who was to be the first act of the evening, has had to cancel all his current tour concerts due to an accident. Due to a fall, he has had to undergo a hip operation. The festival management wishes Jimmy Cliff a speedy recovery.

As an alternative the BALOISE SESSION has managed at short notice to organise a world premiere for the «Crossover Night», with outstanding artists whose musicality, like that of Ben Harper, knows no bounds  and whose careeers have also been inflluenced from the outset by a music legend. Both Californian keyboarder Rose Ann Dimalanta, aka RAD., as well as Dutch saxophonist Candy Dulfer have worked closely with the legendary funk revolutionary and all-rounder Prince and belong to his distinguished New Power Generation family of musicians.

Together with bass player Raymond McKinley and drummer Massimo Buonanno, RAD. founded a top-class trio that pays tribute to the groovy, scintillating music of Bill Evans and George Duke right up to the music of Stevie Wonder and D'Angelo.

As a first at the BALOISE SESSION, Candy Dulfer will appear as a Very Special Guest of the RAD. Trio, celebrating with them the immortal sound of the New Power Generation in a hitherto unheard, innovative manner. A sparkling, high-calibre first act, specially formed for the BALOISE SESSION, is guaranteed.

The «Crossover Night» will take place. Tickets already sold remain valid.

We thank our public and our partners for their understanding and apologise for any inconvenience.

Thursday, 25 Oct. 2018

Ben Harper & The Innocent Criminals

beginning: 9.30 pm 

Songs

Website

Ben Harper

Thursday, 25 Oct. 2018

RAD. Trio feat. Candy Dulfer

beginning: 8.00 pm 

Songs


Website

RAD Trio

Candy Dulfer

1
<
>
Ben Harper at BALOISE SESSION 2018
RAD. Trio feat. Candy Dulfer at BALOISE SESSION 2018
Ben Harper at BALOISE SESSION 2018

BEN HARPER & THE INNOCENT CRIMINALS
RAD. TRIO FEAT. CANDY DULFER

Crossover Night, 25.10.2018

RAD. Trio feat. Candy Dulfer at BALOISE SESSION 2018

BEN HARPER & THE INNOCENT CRIMINALS
RAD. TRIO FEAT. CANDY DULFER

Crossover Night, 25.10.2018

Sponsors

Donnerstag, 25. Okt. 2018 / Event Halle, Messe Basel

Crossover Night

Sein Vater ist Perkussionist. Seine Mutter lehrt ihn Gitarre spielen. Mit acht Jahren sieht er Bob Marley live. Da ist für Ben Harper klar: Musik kennt keine Grenzen, hat unendlich viele Facetten. Mit seiner Band The Innocent Criminals experimentiert er seither mit Stilen von Blues bis Jazz und vereint sie zur Gesamtkunst. Experiment und Improvisation beherrschen auch Keyboarderin Rose Ann Dimalanta, kurz: RAD. & ihr Trio – bestehend aus Bassist Raymond McKinley und Schlagzeuger Massimo Buonanno – und Saxophonistin Candy Dulfer. Die Musikerinnen von Weltformat, die mit Prince arbeiteten und tourten, feiern die Premiere einer Supergroove-Show im Stil der New Power Generation.

Zeno van Essel

 

Programmwechsel am 25. Oktober:

Neu spielen RAD. Trio feat. Candy Dulfer vor Ben Harper & The Innocent Criminals

Die «Crossover Night» an der BALOISE SESSION vom 25. Oktober erfährt eine Änderung im Programm. RAD. Trio feat. Candy Dulfer eröffnen den Abend. Im Anschluss folgt Ben Harper & The Innocent Criminals.

Leider muss Jimmy Cliff, der den ersten Teil des Abends hätte bestreiten sollen, unfallbedingt auf sämtliche Konzerte seiner aktuellen Tour verzichten. Aufgrund eines Sturzes muss er sich einer Hüftoperation unterziehen. Das Festivalmanagement wünscht Jimmy Cliff gute Besserung.

Als Alternative ist es der BALOISE SESSION kurzfristig gelungen, für die «Crossover Night» eine Weltpremiere zu organisieren – mit herausragenden Künstlern, deren Musikverständnis wie jenes von Ben Harper keine Grenzen kennt und deren Karrieren ebenfalls von einer Begegnung mit einer legendären Musikgrösse geprägt sind: Sowohl die kalifornische Keyboarderin Rose Ann Dimalanta, kurz RAD., wie auch die niederländische Saxophonistin Candy Dulfer haben eng mit dem legendären Funk-Revolutionär und Alleskönner Prince zusammengearbeitet und gehören dessen erlesener Musikerfamilie New Power Generation an.

RAD. hat zusammen mit Bassist Raymond McKinley und Schlagzeuger Massimo Buonanno ein hochkarätiges Trio gegründet, das der groovenden, flirrenden Musik von Bill Evans und George Duke bis hin zu der von Stevie Wonder und D’Angelo Tribut zollt.

An der BALOISE SESSION kommt es zur Erstaufführung: Candy Dulfer tritt als Very Special Guest des RAD. Trios auf und feiert mit ihm den unsterblichen Sound der New Power Generation auf eine nie zuvor gehörte, innovative Art. Ein sprühender, hochklassiger erster Teil, welcher extra für die BALOISE SESSIOIN einstudiert wird, ist garantiert.

Die «Crossover Night» findet statt. Bereits gekaufte Tickets behalten ihre Gültigkeit.

Wir danken unserem Publikum und unseren Partnern für das Verständnis und entschuldigen uns für alle entstehenden Unannehmlichkeiten.

 

Türöffnung: 18.30 Uhr

Ben Harper & The Innocent Criminals

LINE UP mehr

Artist Instrument
Ben Harper Vocals, Guitar
Leon Mobley Percussion
Jason Mozersky Guitar
Juan Nelson Bass
Oliver Charles Drums

RAD. Trio feat. Candy Dulfer

LINE UP mehr

Artist Instrument
Rose Ann Dimalanta Lead Vocals, Keyboard, Piano
Candy Dulfer Vocals, Saxophone
Raymond McKinley Bass
Massimo Buonanno Drums