Skip to main content
Ambrosia Brass Band at BALOISE SESSION 1994
  • Basler Versicherungen
  • Basler Kantonalbank
  • Novartis
  • AMAG
  • iwb
  • SRF
  • Schweizer Illustrierte
  • Basler Zeitung
  • Basel Host City

Ambrosia Brass Band

Wed, 19. Oct 1994, 8.30 PM | New Orleans
Atlantis, Basel

Since artsession had started organizing trips to the New Orleans Jazz Festival, the rhythms from over there had coursed through the veins of the festival organizers. The logical consequence was a concert with two groups who virtually transported all of their music fans to the Mississippi. It was traditional jazz with verve and humour: Preservation Hall atmosphere right at the Rhine Knee, creating a longing for a comfortable gathering.  

On the same evening

The Jambalaya Six
Wed, 19. Oct 1994, 3 PM | Spitalkonzert
Kantonsspital, Basel
Fri, 01. May 1987, 5 PM | Festa New Orleans
Münsterplatz, Basel

The second festival edition began with a seven-hour Festa New Orleans. The following bands performed between 5pm and 11pm: The Jambalaya Six; The Back Yard, Tub, Jug & Washboard Band; Trevor Richards and the Ambrosia Brass Band.

Trevor Richards

Trevor Richards was the most famous musician in the New Orleans concert. During the course of his career he had played in a large number of famous jazz bands. In his own band, which took the stage in Basel in 1987, he had assembled some brilliant soloists. Charlie Gabriel, for example, became a member of the «Lionel Hampton Orchestra» in 1948, where he played the tenor saxophone. After working on the West Coast for 5 years, he became Joe Simon’s musical director. Afterwards he went on worldwide tours with Aretha Franklin and Dizzie Gillespie.

Ambrosia Brass Band

The Ambrosia Brass Band was from Milan and was a very popular band at festivals.

On the same evening

Trevor Richards and his Original New Orleans Band

On the same evening

The Jambalaya Six

On the same evening

The Back Yard, Tub, Jug & Washboard Band
image alt text
Sponsors

Skip to main content
Ambrosia Brass Band at BALOISE SESSION 1994
  • Basler Versicherungen
  • Basler Kantonalbank
  • Novartis
  • AMAG
  • iwb
  • SRF
  • Schweizer Illustrierte
  • Basler Zeitung
  • Basel Host City

Ambrosia Brass Band

mer, 19. oct 1994, 20h30 | New Orleans
Atlantis, Basel

Lorsqu'artsession organisait des voyages au New Orleans Jazz Festival, les organisateurs avaient les rythmes de cette contrée dans le sang. En sens inverse, les deux groupes ont embarqué ce soir-là les fans dans un voyage musical à travers le Mississippi. Un jazz traditionnel plein de pep et d'humour. Ambiance Preservation-Hall à la Rheinknie Session qui donnait juste envie de passer du bon temps en bonne compagnie.

La même soirée

The Jambalaya Six at BALOISE SESSION 1994
The Jambalaya Six
mer, 19. oct 1994, 15h | Spitalkonzert
Kantonsspital, Basel
ven, 01. mai 1987, 17h | Festa New Orleans
Münsterplatz, Basel

La deuxième édition du festival a démarré avec une Festa New Orleans de sept heures. De 17h à 23h,  se sont succédé sur scène: The Jambalaya Six; The Back Yard,Tub,Jug & Washboard Band; Trevor Richards et le Ambrosia Brass Band.

Trevor Richards

Trevor Richards était le plus connu des musiciens présents pour ce concert Nouvelle-Orléans. Au cours de sa carrière, Richards a joué avec de nombreux groupes de jazz renommés. En 1987 à Bâle, il se présentait avec son propre groupe et s'était entouré de solistes grandioses. Charlie Gabriel, notamment, qui avait rejoint dès 1948 le «Lionel Hampton Orchesters» avec son saxo ténor. Après avoir travaillé durant 5 ans sur la côte ouest, il était devenu directeur musical pour Joe Simon avant d'entamer une tournée mondiale avec Aretha Franklin et Dizzie Gillespie.

Ambrosia Brass Band

L'Ambrosia Brass Band de Milan était à l'époque une formation très appréciée des festivals.

La même soirée

Trevor Richards at BALOISE SESSION 1987
Trevor Richards and his Original New Orleans Band

La même soirée

The Jambalaya Six at BALOISE SESSION 1987
The Jambalaya Six

La même soirée

The Back Yard, Tub, Jug & Washboard Band at BALOISE SESSION 1987
The Back Yard, Tub, Jug & Washboard Band
image alt text
Sponsors