Skip to main content
Klaus Doldinger's Passport Classic at BALOISE SESSION 1996
  • Basler Versicherungen
  • Basler Kantonalbank
  • Novartis
  • AMAG
  • iwb
  • SRF
  • Schweizer Illustrierte
  • Basler Zeitung
  • Basel Host City

Klaus Doldinger's Passport Classic

Mon, 28. Oct 1996, 8 PM | Blues & Jazz
Messe Basel

Marla Glen has had a career that fits the American Dream. She started out as a cleaning lady, and then sold fast food and lived in poverty, now she is an acclaimed soul, blues and pop star. Her trademarks are the emotional intensity of her singing, sense of humour and her masculine look.
Klaus Doldinger wanted to take a break for the rest of the year after his concert in Montreux in 96. But he was motivated to perform in Basel for a concert with Passport Classic when he heard that Marla Glen was going to appear. Blues and jazz-rock had already been his constant companions for decades. In Basel, this concert celebrated the band’s 25th anniversary with two of his bands (including the original Passport line up with Curt Cress).
Maria Glen & Klaus Doldinger – two-for-one: a unique combination in Basel.

On the same evening

Marla Glen at BALOISE SESSION 1996
Marla Glen & Band
Wed, 30. Oct 1991, 7 PM | Blues-Summit
Festsaal, Mustermesse Basel

A whole lotta blues in Basel: The Blues Brothers Band are world-famous thanks to their film and were festival highlights everywhere with Steve Cropper and Duck Dunn. Klaus Doldinger’s Passport and Johnny Copeland had already generated excitement at the Jazzopen Stuttgart. They skilfully combined jazz and jazz-rock and with star guest Johnny Copeland, also the blues. Joining them in Basel was shooting star Walter «Wolfman» Washington with his band. His reputation as having the voice of Ray Charles and the guitar skills of Robert Cray was completely justified.

On the same evening

The Blues Brothers Band at BALOISE SESSION 1991
The Blues Brothers Band

On the same evening

Walter «Wolfman» Washington at BALOISE SESSION 1991
Walter «Wolfman» Washington
image alt text
Sponsors

Skip to main content
Klaus Doldinger's Passport Classic at BALOISE SESSION 1996
  • Basler Versicherungen
  • Basler Kantonalbank
  • Novartis
  • AMAG
  • iwb
  • SRF
  • Schweizer Illustrierte
  • Basler Zeitung
  • Basel Host City

Klaus Doldinger's Passport Classic

Mo, 28. Okt 1996, 20 UHR | Blues & Jazz
Messe Basel

Marla Glen hat eine Karriere nach US-Muster hinter sich. Zuerst als Putzfrau und Fast-Food-Verkäuferin am Rande der Existenz, heute umjubelter Soul-, Blues- und Popstar. Ihr Markenzeichen sind die emotionale Intensität des Gesangs, Humor und das maskuline Erscheinungsbild.

Klaus Doldinger wollte nach Montreux 96 für den Rest des Jahres pausieren und liess sich erst für ein Konzert mit Passport Classic in Basel begeistern, als er von Marla Glens Engagement hörte. Blues und Jazzrock begleiten ihn seit mehreren Jahrzehnten. In Basel gab es ein Jubiläumskonzert mit zwei verschiedenen seiner Formationen (u.a. die Passport-Urformation mit Curt Cress).

Maria Glen & Klaus Doldinger – eine einmalige Kombination im Duopack in Basel.

Am gleichen Abend

Marla Glen at BALOISE SESSION 1996
Marla Glen & Band
Mi, 30. Okt 1991, 19 UHR | Blues-Summit
Festsaal, Mustermesse Basel

Eine derart geballte Blues-Ladung in Basel: Die Blues Brothers Band wurde nicht zuletzt dank ihres Films weltbekannt und gehörte überall zu den Festivalhöhepunkten. Mit dabei: Steve Cropper und Duck Dunn. Klaus Doldinger’s Passport und Johnny Copeland begeisterten schon am Stuttgarter Jazzgipfel. Sie kombinieren gekonnt Jazz, Jazzrock und mit Stargast Johnny Copeland den Blues. Mit von der Partie in Basel war auch der Senkrechtstarter Walter «Wolfman» Washington mit seiner Band. Man sagt ihm zurecht nach, er habe die Stimme von Ray Charles und die Gitarrenkunst von Robert Cray.

Am gleichen Abend

The Blues Brothers Band at BALOISE SESSION 1991
The Blues Brothers Band

Am gleichen Abend

Walter «Wolfman» Washington at BALOISE SESSION 1991
Walter «Wolfman» Washington
image alt text
Sponsoren